Friday, October 26, 2018

Blog Tour + Review: The Witch of Willow Hall by Hester Fox @HesterBFox @yaboundtourspr



The Witch of Willow Hall
by 
Hester Fox
Genre: Adult Historical Fantasy Fiction (YA Friendly)
Release Date: October 2nd 2018
Graydon House Books (Harlequin)

Summary:


Two centuries after the Salem witch trials, there’s still one witch left in Massachusetts. But she doesn’t even know it.

Take this as a warning: if you are not able or willing to control yourself, it will not only be you who suffers the consequences, but those around you, as well.


New Oldbury, 1821


In the wake of a scandal, the Montrose family and their three daughters—Catherine, Lydia and Emeline—flee Boston for their new country home, Willow Hall.


The estate seems sleepy and idyllic. But a subtle menace creeps into the atmosphere, remnants of a dark history that call to Lydia, and to the youngest, Emeline.


All three daughters will be irrevocably changed by what follows, but none more than Lydia, who must draw on a power she never knew she possessed if she wants to protect those she loves. For Willow Hall’s secrets will rise, in the end…

Add to Goodreads


Purchase links:




Advance Praise:

"Hester Fox's THE WITCH OF WILLOW HALL offers a fascinating location, a great plot with history and twists, and characters that live and breathe. I love the novel, and will be looking forward to all new works by this talented author!" --Heather Graham, New York Times bestselling author


"Beautifully written, skillfully plotted, and filled with quiet terror, readers will devour this absorbing, Gothic tale of romance and suspense. Perfect for fans of Simone St James and Kate Morton." -- Anna Lee Huber, the national bestselling author of the historical Lady Darby Mysteries


"Beautifully written, with an intriguing plot full of suspense and mystery, The Witch of Willow Hall will cast a spell over every reader." -- Lisa Hall, author of Tell Me No Lies and Between You and Me


"I was entranced by this intriguing and spellbinding novel with its messages of love and loyalty and being true to who you really are. I hope Hester Fox goes on to write many more such novels--I for one will be buying them." -- Kathleen McGurl, author of The Girl from Ballymor 


"With its sense of creeping menace and chilling undertones, this compelling story had me gripped from the first page. The vividly drawn characters cast their spell so convincingly, I couldn't stop reading until I discovered what happened to them. A wonderful debut novel.”--Linda Finlay, author of The Flower Seller



My Review:

Lydia Montrose’s father takes their family and moves them to their estate in New Oldbury, Massachusetts, leaving their home in Boston due to a scandal involving her sister Catherine. Lydia is forced to leave behind her finance a very prominent young man in Boston.

Her sister Catherine is a very selfish young woman who will go after whatever she wants knocking down anyone who gets in her way. She doesn’t care about anyone’s feelings but her own. She is a conniving, selfish lady. Catherine is need of a husband and she really doesn’t care who he is and she doesn’t care whose man she has to take as long as she finds a man who will marry her.

Ten years ago Lydia gets real mad at a little boy who is very mean to her and when he is injured Lydia doesn’t know or understand what happened. But I would imagine the crowd that they draw has some ideas of their own as to what happen with the Salem Witch Trials only like a hundred years or so in the past.

Lydia has no idea what she can do or what she is but she starts to get some idea after moving to Willow Hall and she starts seeing ghost in the mansion and on the grounds of Willow Hall.

Before long Lydia’s past and present start to collide when she starts seeing the ghost of Willow Hall and she has a visitor from her past come calling. Her visitors presences doesn’t set very well with the neighbor whom Lydia as taken a liking to. Will Lydia’s visitor’s presence end her relationship with this new guy before it even begins?

This visitor causes some real problems in Lydia’s life not only with the new guy in her life but with her family as well. Her visitor has learned of the reason they left Boston and the scandal involving her sister. Lydia being the kind and generous person that she is will do whatever it takes to keep her family safe no matter what the cost to herself.  

The Witch of Willow Hall is filled with ghosts that go bump in the night, scandal, witches past and present, ghosts of the past and the love of one girl.


If you like a good mystery will a few ghosts, magic, love then The Witch of Willow Hall is the book for you. Check it out! 


About the Author
Hester comes to writing from a background in museum work and historical archaeology. She loves the Gothic, the lurid, the dark...so long as the ending is a happy one. She has never seen a ghost, though she remains hopeful.

Hester lives outside of Boston with her husband. THE WITCH OF WILLOW HALL is her first novel.

Author Links:


Blog Tour Organized by:




0 comments:

Post a Comment