Saturday, March 28, 2020

Book Tour + Review + #Giveaway: Ordinary (Ordinary Series Book 1) by Starr Z. Davies @SZDavies @SDSXXTours



Ordinary 
Ordinary Series Book 1 
by Starr Z. Davies 
Genre: YA Sci-Fi Dystopian 


Fans of Powerless, The Testing, Hunger Games and the Maze Runner will crave this world of iniquitous secrets, intrigue, and desire to find a place in society. 

Divinic. Somatic. Psionic. Naturalist. Who will you be? 

Having a superpower is ordinary. Your Power determines your job, social class, and future success. 

But Ugene doesn’t have a Power. The only thing special about him is that he isn’t special at all. Ugene is Powerless. 

So when the most prominent biomedical research company in the city offers Ugene a solution, he jumps at the possibility to be ordinary. All he has to do is agree to allow them to use him in their research. But the longer he stays at the research facility, the more he realizes something isn't right. 

Friendships are forged. Trust is broken built and broken. And everything Ugene thought he understood and believed is called into question. 

Who can Ugene trust in his search for answers? What is he willing to sacrifice for Powers? 

Goodreads * Amazon





Three days define who a person will be for the rest of their life. The day they are born. Testing Day, where their abilities are determined. And, of course, Career Day, where social status, wealth, and future prospects are decided for them by an exhibition hall of employers.

I passed my birth with great pains. According to stories Mom told me, my labor gave her particular difficulty. After arriving too soon, too weak to survive on my own, I lived in an incubator for the first six weeks of my life in a struggle to survive. It’s why she sometimes—annoyingly—calls me, “tough guy.”

Up until Testing Day, everyone—from my teachers to my neighbors—called me a late bloomer and constantly reassured my parents that eventually I would fall into one of the Four Branches of Powers. They said it as if doing so was something I would just stumble over on the sidewalk one day and say, “Oh look, there’s my Power!”

Testing Day came early in my ninth year of schooling, alongside everyone else in my class. Those who had already developed their ability were divided into groups based on their Branch of Power: Somatic for Powers relating to the body; Naturalist for those with organic Powers; Psionic for the Power of the mind; and Divinic for those with Powers outside our world. Mostly, this division left me and three other kids—Mo, Dave, and Leo—uncategorized. By the end of the day, only I remained unclassified. Testing Day was a bitter disappointment for everyone in my family— including me.

Ordinary people have Powers and prospects. I have neither.

Now I face Career Day, where I get to parade around a convention center with all the other doeeyed, eleventh-year students and try to convince businesses why my Power is worth employment. Except I still don’t have one, and probably never will.

I’ve dreaded this day for years. Now, there’s no escaping it.

Miraculously, my parents haven’t given up on me. They still hold on to the hope that everything is about to change.


For all our sakes, I hope they are right.





Imagine living in a world where having a superpower makes you ordinary. Having a superpower determines your status in the world and it would also determine what sort of job you would have. I guess the more powerful your power the better job you would have and a better house ECT….

But then imagine living in this world with no power. Yeah that would be kind of bad with no one wanting to be friends with someone like you. No skills for a job and if there was a job that you could do no one would want you to work for them as you are different.

Well Ugene Powers lives in this world and without any powers. Ugene has a lab at his home where he has been working for a long time trying to figure out why he has no powers. All Ugene wants is to be like everyone else and to be accepted.

Ugene doesn’t believe that he will ever be able to get a job but he is surprised on job day at his school when he is offered a job at a research center. They want to use him to experiment on and hopefully one day with their research he can have powers of his own and may be save others at the same time.

After arriving at the research center Ugene meets other people who have agreed to the experiments. Things at the research center don’t seem to be on the up an up. Something is going on and Ugene is determined to find out what and hopefully find a way to escape before to many lives are lost or put in danger. Ugene has no idea who he can trust or not. Is he the only one that sees something is amiss with the experiments and the research company? What is there true agenda?

When I read the summary for Ordinary I had to read it. Ordinary is a very thrilling and exciting read. It is so very intriguing and filled with mystery from beginning to end. It will keep you hooked on the edge of your seat rooting for Ugene the whole way. I can’t wait to read more about Ugene and others in this extraordinary world of Ordinary. I honestly loved the world that was created for Ordinary. I could just see it all playing out in my head like a movie.

I would like to recommend Ordinary to all fans of dystopian or apocalyptic worlds. 




STARR Z. DAVIES is a Midwesterner at heart, and lives in Wisconsin with her husband and kids. From a young age, Starr has been obsessed with superheroes like Batman and Captain America, which inspired her novel, ORDINARY. If Starr had a superpower, she would be an Empath, because she is an emotional sponge and easily relates to how others feel. 

While pursuing a degree in Creative Writing from the University of Wisconsin, Starr gained a reputation as the “Character Assassin” because she has a habit of utterly destroying her characters both emotionally and physically. 

In her free time, Starr loves watching Doctor Who or anything with superheroes, reading books (duh!), writing about her favorite fantasy stories (Song of Ice and Fire, Mistborn, The Wheel of Time), and staring out the window as she dreams up more stories. Oh, and sometimes she steps out the door. 




Follow the tour HERE for special content and a giveaway!




1 comments:

Starr Z. Davies said...

Thanks so much for your kind review! I'm so glad you enjoyed the book and I really appreciate your recommendation.

If anyone has questions about the book, I would love to answer them ... as long as the answer doesn't involve spoilers. :)

Post a Comment