Tuesday, May 4, 2021

Blog Tour + Review + #Giveaway: The Ones We’re Meant To Find by Joan He @joanhewrites @XpressoTours

The Ones We’re Meant to Find
Joan He
Published by: Roaring Brook Press
Publication date: May 4th 2021
Genres: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Perfect for fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, The Ones We’re Meant to Find is a sci-fi fantasy with mind-blowing twists, ready to burst onto the YA scene, from the critically-acclaimed Descendant of the Crane author, Joan He.

Cee awoke on an abandoned island three years ago. With no idea of how she was marooned, she only has a rickety house, an old android, and a single memory: she has a sister, and Cee needs to find her.

STEM prodigy Kasey wants escape from the science and home she once trusted. The Metropolis—Earth’s last unpolluted place—is meant to be sanctuary for those commited to planetary protection, but it’s populated by people willing to do anything for refuge, even lie. Now, she’ll have to decide if she’s ready to use science to help humanity, even though it failed the people who mattered most.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

My Review:

The Ones We’re Meant To Find is a story about two sisters. One of the sisters, Celia or Cee takes a boat out one day and never comes back. Cee has been alone on an island for three years with no memory of how she got there, where she came from, or even what her name is. But there is one thing for sure she knows she has a sister, Kasey out there somewhere and if it is the last thing she ever does she is going to find her way back to her sister.

Kasey lives in one of the last homes levitating around the world called eco-city. The homes levitating around the world were built for people who protected the planet-and now need protecting from it. Life on eco-city is alone one, a life that Kasey doesn’t mind but one in which her sister did.

Kasey is happy with her life in eco-city and the work she does and is content to never leave until the day her sister disappears. When Cee disappears Kasey spends her waking moments searching for her sister. Everyone tries to convince Kasey that Cee is dead but she doesn’t believe them. Like Cee, Kasey will never stop looking for her sister.

The Ones We’re Meant To Find is a very sad book that drew me in from the first page and never let up. Once I opened it up and read the first page I was hooked and there was no way I was going to stop reading until I had read the last page.

There were times when I was very confused as to what was actually happening but that only made me want to read more to until all my questions had answers. The suspense and mystery alone are enough to keep the pages turning. As I turned each page I kept wondering when or if Kasey and Cee would ever be reunited.

I think that The Ones We’re Meant To Find would be a great book for anyone who likes to mix up their genres. Someone who likes a little bit of this and a little bit of that. Like a little bit of suspense and a little bit of mystery or a little bit of science fiction and a little bit of dystopia with a little bit of romance on the side kind of deal. If this sounds like you then one-click your copy of The Ones We’re Meant To Find today!


Author Bio:

Joan was born and raised in Philadelphia but still will, on occasion, lose her way. At a young age, she received classical instruction in oil painting before discovering that stories were her favorite kind of art. She studied psychology and Chinese history at the University of Pennsylvania and currently writes from a desk overlooking the city
waterfront. Descendant of the Crane is her young adult debut.

For updates, please sign up for her newsletter: http://eepurl.com/c5rvdL. For business related inquiries, please contact her literary agent, John Cusick of Folio Lit.

Website / Goodreads / Twitter / Instagram


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

 

1 comments:

Giselle said...

This sounds like an addicting and well written read! Great review!

Post a Comment