Monday, August 8, 2022

Blog Tour + #Giveaway: Buck Up, Buttercup by Anna Alkire @AnnaAlkire @XpressoTours

Buck Up, Buttercup
Anna Alkire
Publication date: June 30th 2022
Genres: Comedy, Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

All’s fair in love and war.
With Randi and Buck, it’s hard to tell the two apart…

An uptight, self-contained college girl, Randi Becker just needed one thing: a room. Somewhere she could study, and keep away from the things that most confuse and frighten her: people.

Unfortunately, the “nice quiet place” she reserved turns out to be a room in the campus’ most raucous house. A place seemingly designed to make studying impossible, made even worse by the other girls’ non-stop drama.

But then Buck, a fun-loving cowboy whom all the ladies love, shows up…and everything gets much worse.

Buck seems to have it all: friends, fun, and a never-ending line of admirers. But what he most desires is a break. So when Buck spots Randi, he figures she’s a perfect decoy: he can play up a “crush” on her that will take him off the market; buy him some breathing room. And if he can tease her a bit, and get under the skin of the uptight busybody? Well, that’s just gravy.

But Buck is about to find more than he bargained for. Randi’s strong-willed, opinionated, difficult—and maybe just what he needs. And Buck isn’t alone. Soon Randi wonders as well…if the world she wanted is really the world she needs. If her future is nothing more than a diploma on the wall. And if the most important thing in her world isn’t a grade, but the cowboy who’s planted his boots firmly in her heart.

Fans of Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare and Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game will delight at this mix of romantic comedy, contemporary romance, and cultures colliding in a campus town with a western flair. Grab your copy today, and fall in love with Buck Up, Buttercup!

Goodreads / Amazon


Interview with Anna Alkire, author of Buck Up, Buttercup, book 1 of the Montgomery Brother’s series.


How did you become involved with the subject or theme of your

book?

I’m drawn to opposites attract and enemies to lovers stories. A fresh setting, based on where I went to college in Corvallis Oregon, also drew me in because it happens to be a unique place where different regional cultures collide.


What were your goals and intentions in this book, and how well do you feel you achieved them?

My goal was to tell a story that sticks with you and create characters that come to life on the page. For many of us, college is a time of finding yourself and testing boundaries and so is a ripe setting for all kinds of stories. For me, fiction is art, which creates a fresh way of seeing or experiencing the world. Nothing is ever perfect, but I hope with my fiction to draw out some laughs and leave readers feeling renewed about the possibility of connection.


What was the hardest part of writing this book?

Having faith in myself!


What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

Hearing my writing group laugh while I read passages out loud. As far as the writing went, when the characters had their own voices, that almost spoke to me, that was magical.


Were there alternate endings you considered?

I agonized about the ending! Then the idea that is in the finished book came to me and I jumped up and down in glee.


Can you share some stories about people you met while researching this book?

The characters are based off of people I knew during college. I traveled back to Corvallis Oregon while working on the book and was floored by how much the city has grown and changed. It’s a unique place I’ll visit often.


What genre of books do you enjoy reading?

All kinds! I read romantic comedy, like Beth O’Leary and Sally Thorne, and also urban fantasy, current favorite is Naomi Novak. To wind down I’ll often listen to a Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, or Lois McMaster Bujold. 


Author Bio:

Anna Alkire has been a long-term college student, a business owner, and a world traveler. Now “settled”—with a sigh and a cup of decaf—Anna lives in Washington state, where she splits her time between a husband who thinks the North Pole would be a great place to live, chasing her hurricane of a son, learning new handicrafts, and creating worlds full of the kind of romance and fun she most wants to read. Find more about her (and grab a freebie or two) at her website, annaalkire.com.

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Newsletter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

9 comments:

ShirleyAnn said...

I enjoyed the post its great to get to know new authors to me.

Sara said...

Thanks for telling me about this book

Giselle said...

Thanks for hosting today, Nancy!

Stormy Vixen said...

Congratulations on your release of Buck Up, Buttercup, Anna, I enjoyed the interview and your book sounds like a delightful book for me to enjoy and I like the cover! Good luck with your book and the blitz!

Thanks for sharing it with me and have a marvelous week!

Sherry said...

I love the cover and think the book sounds interesting.

Daniel M said...

looks like a fun one

Jolanda said...

Congratulations on your release

Marcy Meyer said...

Cute cover. Sounds really good.

marisela zuniga said...

This sounds very good

Post a Comment