Friday, September 30, 2022

Blog Tour + Review + #Giveaway: The Maid's Secret by Shari J. Ryan @sharijryan @forewordpr

THE MAID'S SECRET

by Shari J. Ryan

Blog Tour

Release Date: September 29, 2022

Genre: Historical Fiction
Trope: World War II

Synopsis

Czechoslovakia, 1940: “We will always have our memories,” he says, as the soldiers pull him away. “You will survive this. You are braver than you know. Remember that, always.” This heartbreaking World War Two page-turner shows that love is more powerful than hatred, bravery can overcome evil, and hope is stronger than darkness.

In the middle of the night, while I am curled in Ben’s arms, there is a harsh knock on the door. My blood turns to ice. The love of my life is Jewish, and I am a Romany gypsy maid; every second that we exist in Hitler’s Europe, we are in danger. Every day, we have been huddling around a crackling radio, listening for news of this evil war. Every night, we have feared we won’t live till dawn.

The banging continues, and we leap out of bed. I can hardly breathe as I open the door, seeing Nazis standing before us. My heart cracks as the soldiers grab Ben. I’m powerless to stop them from shoving him into a wagon, bound for the place of no return.

The love of my life is now imprisoned in wire with thousands of other innocent inmates. For every moment he is trapped behind the gates of hell, he gets closer to death—surviving on scraps of food, and forced to work in gruelling conditions.

The soldiers haven’t arrested me yet, but it’s only a matter of time. I vow to stay alive for Ben, not to give up hope. I’ll stop at nothing to escape the enemy as they hunt me down.

With our fate in the hands of monsters, will we ever see each other again? And will our love for one another save us—or kill us?

Fans of Fiona Valpy, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book of Lost Names will be utterly glued to this heart-wrenching and utterly gripping World War Two novel which shows that, if you have love, you can survive anything…


Add to your TBR List!



Purchase Link

Amazon Universal ~ https://geni.us/tCh1Q


My Review:

During the war in Czechoslovakia, 1942 a young girl, Mila Leon, a Romani, goes to work as a maid for an aristocratic Jewish family. When Mila meets one of their sons, Ben there is an immediate attraction between the two. Their love is forbidden by the family but Ben does not believe as his family does and defies them.
Ben’s family is not the only one who is trying to tear them apart. The Germans especially Hitler are trying to tear them apart as well. Then one day the soldiers come and arrest Ben and take him away. Can Ben and Mila’s love withstand his family and the war?
The Maid's Secret is a fast-paced read that kept me hooked from the first page. The Maid's Secret takes you on a heart-wrenching journey. It is a sad and a happy read. It is sad because Ben and Mila were torn apart not knowing if they would ever see each other again. It was a happy story because of the love between Ben and Mila. Their love was strong enough to hold up against almost anything that was thrown at them. Their love grew stronger over time never diminishing.
The Maid's Secret is a wonderful story one that I would like to see on the big screen one day hopefully in the near future.
I would recommend The Maid's Secret to anyone looking for their next great read! Grab your copy of The Maid's Secret today!


Giveaway

$10 Amazon Gift Card
a Rafflecopter Giveaway

About the Author

Shari J. Ryan is USA Today bestselling author. She lives in Massachusetts with her wicked awesome husband, and two wild sons who fill her life with non-stop comedy.

With a life full of love, writing, drawing, TV binging, reading, and Starbucks, Shari is living her best life.

Connect with Shari

Website:
Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/3BmjHb9

Facebook Author Page: http://bit.ly/2tXGvzH

Facebook Reader Group: https://bit.ly/3nAgq2X

Goodreads Author Page: http://bit.ly/2tXsJgp




Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/2sLOZto

Bookbub Author Page: http://bit.ly/2xYClpP



0 comments:

Post a Comment