Thursday, June 9, 2022

Review: Her Frozen Cry (Detective Amanda Steele Book 5) by Carolyn Arnold @Carolyn_Arnold

Her Frozen Cry

Detective Amanda Steele #5

by Carolyn Arnold

Published: June 9, 2022

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Hard-Boiled, Mystery, Crime Thrillers, Police Procedural, Organized Crime Thrillers, Serial Killer Thrillers, Murder Thrillers


Blurb:


The moon shines through the open window, bathing the woman in pale light. Blood-red wine from a shattered glass soaks into the cream blanket beside her, and her dull eyes stare vacantly at the framed photograph in her hand.


When beautiful wife and mother Alicia Gordon is found dead in a remote woodland cabin, Detective Amanda Steele is shocked to discover that she knows the husband. Amanda hasn’t spoken to Tony since she lost the love of her own life seven years ago, and seeing tragedy tearing her old friend’s family apart brings back so many painful memories.

Alicia was alone when she died, but she was so young, and Amanda can’t help feeling suspicious. Then she discovers that Alicia’s sleep medication had been tampered with, slowly poisoning her over several days. Amanda wants to trust that the sorrow on Tony’s face is real, but the more she digs into his marriage, the more it seems that he had opportunity, and motive…

Interviewing one of Alicia’s old colleagues, Amanda is shaken to her core when the woman suddenly collapses in her arms, dying in seconds from a lethal dose of the same poison that killed Alicia. But what could link this woman to Tony?

With her partner blaming Amanda for not arresting Tony immediately, she needs to prove that he isn’t the killer, or accept that the second woman’s death could be on her hands. She’s running out of time and leads when she discovers threatening messages sent to both victims. It’s the final clue to unmasking the most twisted killer Amanda has ever come up against, and to stop them she’ll have to risk everything…

A heart-pounding crime thriller perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine.


Add Her Frozen Cry on Goodreads and BookBub


Purchase Her Frozen Cry on Amazon, Apple, Kobo, and Google



My Review:

I do believe that Her Frozen Cry just may be the best book that Carolyn Arnold has written so far. Well, from the ones that I have read that is and I have read a lot of Carolyn Arnold’s books and truly enjoyed each and every one of them. Her writing gets better and better with each book. But I must say that she has definitely knocked it out of the ballpark with Her Frozen Cry.

I mean she had me guessing as to who did it from the start. Well, I will have to admit that at first, I did think I knew who did it real quick-like. All Detective Amanda Steel had to do was prove it. Well, prove it she did. I was convinced as to who the killer was right up until Amanda let the real killer out of the bag. Oh, let me tell you it took me by surprise.

I love the way Carolyn lays her stories out. You know someone was killed and who it is from the very beginning then you are left to figure out who did it and why. Then you get to read the crime scenes and let the dead talk to you giving their account of how they died by putting together all the clues left by the killer that they are not even aware that they left.

The mystery and suspense alone will keep the pages turning. The moment I pick up one of Carolyn’s books I am drawn into its world trying to help figure out what happened to the victim, who the killer is, and the reason behind the killing.

In Her Frozen Cry, Detective Amanda Steel must solve the murder of a friend’s wife that she has not seen since the death of her own family several years back. Amanda must find out if the woman died by her own hand or if by someone else. The woman’s husband is hiding something but Amanda has no idea what it is but she will find out before it is over. What is the husband hiding? Who killed this lady? Did her husband do it? Or was it someone else?

As always I would recommend any one of Carolyn’s books but I do highly recommend Her Frozen Cry as it is the best one yet. Give it a try. Grab your copy today!


Be sure and check out all the books in the Detective Amanda Steele Series


The Little Grave #1

Goodreads

Amazon

BookBub


Stolen Daughters #2

Goodreads

Amazon

BookBub


The Silent Witness #3

Goodreads

Amazon

BookBub


Black Orchid Girls #4

Goodreads

Amazon

BookBub


Her Frozen Cry #5

Goodreads

Amazon

BookBub


Author Bio
CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has several continuing fiction series and has many published books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from police procedurals, hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures. Her crime fiction series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining. This led to her adopting the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives near London, Ontario, Canada with her husband and two beagles.


Connect with CAROLYN ARNOLD Online:









0 comments:

Post a Comment