Tuesday, October 29, 2019

Blog Tour + #Giveaway: The Shadow Prince by Stacey O’Neale @StaceyONeale @XpressoTours


The Shadow Prince
Stacey O’Neale
(Mortal Enchantment #0.5)
Publication date: March 25th 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Prequel novella to the award-winning YA fantasy series Mortal Enchantment. Discover a world of elemental powers, courage, duty, sacrifice, forbidden romance and a war for the very elements of life.

Sixteen-year-old Rowan is an elemental prince. Banished to the mortal world, he doubts he will ever return to Avalon and claim the fire court throne. Until he receives a challenge from his estranged mother. If he slays Kalin, the half-human, half-elemental, princess of the air court, she will abdicate her throne. Is he capable of completing such a heinous task? And what price will he pay if he refuses?

Perfect for fans of Holly Black and Sarah J. Maas.

“Filled with betrayal and intrigue, The Shadow Prince is a dark and twisty novella from an exciting new author!” Katee Robert, New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author



The Shadow Prince is part of the
Mortal Enchantment box set
OUT NOW!





Interview with Stacey O’Neale

As a writer, what would you choose as your mascot/avatar/spirit animal?
I don’t know if I have one specific animal, but I’m mildly obsessed with goats at the moment. There’s a twitter page dedicated to goats, and I check every day for a new video. If you ever see them walk you’ll understand. They’re hilarious.

How many hours a day do you put into your writing?
Every day is different, but I write full-time. It's not always writing though. Sometimes I’m outlining new projects, researching, marketing, etc.

Do you read your book reviews? If yes, do they affect what you write in the future?
I do read my reviews. I’m pretty chill about the whole process. Meaning, I don’t get upset if someone doesn’t like my book. I attribute that ease to my time as a book publicist. There have been a few occasions when a review affected my writing. There was one reviewer who had said that she hoped there were a few scenes in the water court because those elementals were her favorite. That comment inspired the Eternal Sacrifice prologue.  

Do you leave hidden messages in your books that only a few people will find?
Yes, I like to leave hidden messages. Most of them have to do with authors I admire. In my book, Under His Skin, the main character is reading a book by Gena Showalter. There’s a line in Eternal Sacrifice that has a ninja reference. That one is for Jennifer L. Armentrout. If you follow her, you probably understand why I would associate ninjas with her.

Can you tell us a little bit about the characters in The Shadow Prince?
Rowan is the main character in The Shadow Prince. He’s the exiled prince of the fire court. I wrote TSP in Rowan’s POV. Marcus is his best friend. He’s also from the fire court but is not like Rowan. I don’t want to get into the specifics because it ruins the surprise. The events in this novella laid the foundation for the rest of the series.

Can you tell us a little bit about your next books or what you have planned for the future?
The Mortal Enchantment Box Set releases on October 28th. I’m working on a new YA fantasy series. I’ve written the first book, but I need to work through the edits. I also have a couple of ideas bouncing around in my head. I need to outline them and figure out which one I’m going to write.

Do you allow yourself a certain number of hours to write, or do you write as long as the words come?
I prefer to write during the day while my daughter is in school. It can be anywhere from 4-8 hours per day. The higher number is better, but I’m usually on the lower end.

Do you have a certain number of words or pages you write per day?
My goal is 2,500 words per day, but if I have other deadlines I’m working through I might not write any new material. My schedule changes all the time.

What inspires you to write?
I spent a lot of time reading comic books as a kid, and I can see their influence in my stories. I’m also a history and mythology dork. I like to take things people recognize and create something new out of it.   

Would you rather

Read fiction or non-fiction?
Fiction

Read series or stand-alone?
Series

Read Science fiction or horror?
Science-fiction

Read Stephen King or Dean Koontz?
Dean Koontz

Read the book or watch the movie?
Book

Read an ebook or paperback?
eBook

Be trapped alone for one month in a library with no computer or a room with a computer and Wi-Fi only?
Library

Do a cross-country book store tour or blog tour online?
A cross-country bookstore tour sounds amazing, but my social anxiety tells me the answer is an online blog tour.

***The 2019 updated edition of The Shadow Prince is available on Amazon for free. You can get your copy by clicking here: https://www.amazon.com/Shadow-Prince-Mortal-Enchantment-Book-ebook/dp/B00IT1DQX0    



Author Bio:

Award-winning author, Stacey O’Neale, lives in Annapolis, Maryland. When she’s not writing, she spends her time fangirling over books, blogging, watching fantasy television shows, cheering for the Baltimore Ravens, and hanging out with her husband and daughter.

Her career in publishing started as a blogger-turned-publicist for two successful small publishers. Stacey writes young adult fantasy and adult science fiction romance. Her books always include swoon-worthy heroes, snarky heroines, and lots of kissing.





XBTBanner1


1 comments:

Post a Comment