Monday, January 11, 2021

Review: The Little Grave by Carolyn Arnold @Carolyn_Arnold

The Little Grave

Detective Amanda Steele #1

by Carolyn Arnold

Published: January 11, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Thriller, Mystery, Crime Thriller, Crime, Suspense

Blurb:


Detective Amanda Steele stops just inside the doorway, recognizing the victim’s face instantly. He seems so vulnerable in death; soft, human, even harmless. But she can never forget the evil he has inflicted. Her heart is hammering as she remembers her precious daughter, with her red curls and infectious laugh, and how she was lowered into that little grave…

It’s been five years since Detective Amanda Steele’s life was derailed in the path of an oncoming drunk driver. The small community of Dumfries, Virginia, may have moved on from the tragic deaths of her husband and daughter, but Amanda cannot. When the driver who killed her family is found murdered in a motel room, she can’t keep away from the case.

Fighting her sergeant to be allowed to work an investigation with such a personal connection to her, Amanda is in a race to prove that she can uncover the truth. But the more she digs into the past of the man who destroyed her future, the more shocking discoveries she makes. And when Amanda finds the link between a silver bracelet in his possession and the brutal unsolved murder of a young exotic dancer, she realizes she’s caught up in something darker than she ever imagined and suspects that more girls could be in danger.

But as Amanda edges toward the truth, she gets closer to a secret as personal as it is deadly. Amanda has stumbled upon a dangerous killer, and she must face some terrible truths in order to catch this killer – and save his next victim as she couldn’t save her own daughter…

A gripping, page-turning thriller full of mystery and suspense. Perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Robert Dugoni.

Goodreads ~ Amazon ~ BookBub


My Review:

In The Little Grave, we are introduced to Detective Amanda Steele. Amanda works for the Prince William County Police Department. A few years ago Amanda lost her whole family in a car accident. Amanda is still dealing with the death of her husband and little girl. After five long years, their deaths are still haunting her and probably always will.

A friend of Amanda’s called her to inform her that the man responsible for her family's death has been found dead in a hotel room. It appears that he drank himself to death. Amanda is the first detective on the scene. Amanda against her boss's better judgment agrees to let her investigate the case with a couple of stipulations of course. One being that she is assigned a partner.

Amanda’s grief is laying on her heavily even after five-years. I think that Amanda is also surfing from survivor's guilt as well. On several occasions, I could feel Amanda’s pain as the story was written so well. I felt as if I was there with Amanda through all the twists and turns throughout the whole story.

The Little Grave is a great introduction to a brand new series. It is filled with secrets from beginning to end. The whole time I was reading The Little Grave I kept trying to figure out whodunit as each clue was revealed and just when I thought I would have it all figured out, bam, I was slammed in the face with yet another clue or twist that had me on the run again searching for yet another clue. When the truth finally came out I was totally shocked as I did not see that one coming at all. I can’t wait to read more of Amanda’s story in the next chapter of her life in this new series Detective Amanda Steele.

I would highly recommend The Little Grave to all mystery, suspense thriller fans. One-click your copy of The Little Grave today to begin this epic new series today! 




CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives in London Ontario with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada and Sisters in Crime.

Connect with CAROLYN ARNOLD Online:


And don’t forget to sign up for her newsletter for up-to-date information on release and special offers at http://carolynarnold.net/newsletters.



0 comments:

Post a Comment