Friday, September 10, 2021

Blog Tour + Review + #Giveaway: A Girl From Forever by Yolanda McCarthy @XpressoTours

A Girl From Forever
Yolanda McCarthy
(The Forever Institute, #1)
Publication date: September 3rd 2021
Genres: Dystopian, Romance, Science Fiction, Thriller, Young Adult

“Night is a predator, and it’s got me.”

A thrilling dystopian story of star-crossed love, perfect for fans of Eve of Man and The Hunger Games.

Do you know who you are? Do you know where you belong? Do you recognize good from evil? Seventeen-year-old Fern thought she understood it all…

“Yolanda McCarthy’s dystopian novel, A Girl From Forever, is a thrilling teen adventure that explores multiple what-if scenarios as a young woman follows a lengthy quest for answers. Told in the first-person narrative from Fern’s point of view, the reader will be instantly caught up in the turmoil that plagues the protagonist as she seeks answers. With considerable conflict, both physically and mentally, the plot moves forward with a driving force that will have the reader unable to put the book down… This is a powerful story that not only rivets the reader but speaks to them about issues all young people face: first love, betrayal, truth, and denial, and what’s really real is this complicated world in which we live.” – Readers’ Favorite 5* review

Psychics, immortals, and a battle over humanity’s destiny. First love. Betrayal. Abduction. Murder. When friends become enemies and terrorists turn into allies, Fern’s betrayer could be her soul mate – but that might not be enough to keep her alive…

Some lies are lethal.

Goodreads / Amazon

My Review:

The Forever Institute is the only home Fern has ever known. It is the place where scientist created her. Most everyone at Forever has Psychic abilities but not Fern or at least if she does they have not manifested yet.

Fern has never stepped foot outside of Forever as the scientist will not allow it. The only people or friends that Fern have live at the institute just like her. Until one day she hears the voice of this guy in her head.

This guy is Psychic and has the ability to communicate with her telepathically. Fern has no idea who this guy is or where he is from. The only thing she knows for sure is that he is from the outside.

This guy begins to tell Fern that the things she is being taught at Forever are not true. That everything they have taught her is a lie. He talks Fern into sneaking out so they can meet and he can better explain to her what is going on.

But once outside Fern begins to question everything Forever has told her. She also begins to wonder if this guy is being honest with her. Is he who he claims to be? When some dark secrets start to reveal themselves Fern begins to question everything she knows. She no longer knows who she can trust and who she can’t. Who is telling her the truth? The telepathic guy or Forever?

A Girl From Forever is full of mystery, suspense, and secrets that kept me hooked from beginning to end. I would like to read more from this world and the characters too. I loved the world that was created for A Girl From Forever. I liked that they had Psychic abilities.

I really liked the fact that when Fern was given all the information or enough at least most of it she stood back and study it for herself so she could form her own opinion and not let someone else tell her what to believe or not believe. You know let someone influence her decision or what she believed. Fern is a strong character who knows bullsh!t when she hears it, well that is when she has both sides of the story or when she knows there is two sides.

A Girl From Forever was a fun little story that I would recommend to all science fiction fans. One-click your copy of A Girl From Forever today!


Author Bio:

Yolanda grew up in London, where she worked as a lawyer, a supermarket assistant, a civil servant, and at a cat shelter. Not in that order. Her work took her to California, Serbia, and Dubai, but her fondest memories are of Bermuda. (She’s still homesick for Bermuda. Especially the pink sands of Elbow Beach…)

She now lives in Kent with her husband and son, where she writes all kinds of speculative fiction. Sometimes she climbs mountains.

Website / Goodreads / Instagram


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

 

2 comments:

Giselle said...

Great review, Nancy! This sounds entertaining and well written!! Glad you liked it!

pippirose said...

The book sounds very interesting. I love the pretty cover!

Post a Comment