Monday, August 3, 2020

Blog Tour + #Giveaway: The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas @daniellebanas @XpressoTours


The Good for Nothings
Danielle Banas
(Rogue Ethereal #6)
Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: August 4th 2020
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult

They’re only good at being bad.

Cora Saros is just trying her best to join the family business of theft and intergalactic smuggling. Unfortunately, she’s a total disaster.

After landing herself in prison following an attempted heist gone very wrong, she strikes a bargain with the prison warden: He’ll expunge her record if she brings back a long-lost treasure rumored to grant immortality.

Cora is skeptical, but with no other way out of prison (and back in her family’s good graces), she has no choice but to assemble a crew from her collection of misfit cellmates—a disgraced warrior from an alien planet; a cocky pirate who claims to have the largest ship in the galaxy; and a glitch-prone robot with a penchant for baking—and take off after the fabled prize.

But the ragtag group soon discovers that not only is the too-good-to-be-true treasure very real, but they’re also not the only crew on the hunt for it. And it’s definitely a prize worth killing for.

Whip-smart and utterly charming, this irreverent sci-fi adventure is perfect for fans of Guardians of the Galaxy, The Lunar Chronicles, and Firefly.



Interview with Danielle Banas

    For those interested in exploring the subject or theme of your book, where should they start?
    Some great comp titles to The Good for Nothings are The Lunar Chronicles, The Aurora Cycle Series, Firefly, and Guardians of the Galaxy. Any story involving a quirky group of misfits in outer space will do the trick.
    How did you become involved with the subject or theme of your book?
    Honestly, I had no clue what I wanted to write after my debut, The Supervillain and Me. Some people have a dozen story ideas in their back pocket at all times, but I’m unfortunately not one of them. The only thing I knew was that after writing about good guys saving the day in my first book, this time I wanted to focus on a group of morally gray characters. I started brainstorming different movies that I loved and tried to figure out which two I could mash together and put my own spin on to create a new story. I settled on Guardians of the Galaxy and Pirates of the Caribbean. So basically, I told my publisher that I wanted to write about space pirates, and thankfully they let me.
    What were your goals and intentions in this book, and how well do you feel you achieved them?
    My goal going into every book that I write is to make sure that the reader has fun. If you leave the book feeling even a little happier than you did entering it, then I did my job. Obviously, humor is a very personal thing, but I think that I packed more jokes into The Good for Nothings than any other story that I’ve ever written. Actually, there was one point where I started wondering if I was making too many jokes, but I don’t really think that’s a thing. I know that everyone is going through a rough time right now. There are definitely some serious scenes in this book, but overall it’s very lighthearted. I hope that my quirky space children can be a bright spot in your day!
    Anything you would like to say to your readers and fans?
    THANK YOU! I know how many choices you have when it comes to books to read, and if you even consider picking up mine, know that you likely just made my day. I hope you have as much fun reading The Good for Nothings as I did writing it! More than anything, I hope it makes you laugh and that it brings a bit of light into what has so far been a very dark year in the world.

    What did you enjoy most about writing this book?
    My favorite thing about writing any book is getting to think up as much witty banter and snarky one-liners as possible. If I could write an entire book that was solely made up of silly jokes, then I would probably finish each draft in half the time. But then there would probably be no plot; it would just be characters poking fun at everything around them for 300 pages, and no one wants that.
    Can you tell us a little bit about your next books or what you have planned for the future?
    I don’t want to give too much away, but I’m working on an urban fantasy where the main character works on a film set. The film industry is something I’ve wanted to incorporate into a book for years because I worked as a background extra off and on when I was in college. I have the outline and the first four chapters done. If I can finish the first draft by the end of 2020, that would be awesome!
    How long have you been writing?
    I started writing for fun a little bit here and there during my sophomore year of high school. Then I got too busy with school and I don’t think I wrote anything for about four years. Once I got into college, I needed something to occupy myself during breaks in between classes because I was a commuter, so I started picking up every YA book that I could get my hands on. Eventually, I started writing again, but I didn’t really take it seriously until I took a creative writing class during my junior year. After that semester was over, I started writing the first draft of what eventually became my debut, The Supervillain and Me. That was just over 6 years ago, but it doesn’t feel that long. I don’t know where the time has gone.
    Can you tell us a little bit about the characters in The Good for Nothings?
    Sure! The Good for Nothings is about four misfits who meet in prison and have to unite to locate an ancient treasure in order to get their criminal records expunged. The main character is Cora Saros, who comes from a family of famous intergalactic criminals. Her mother is the head of their crime family, and in order to earn her mother’s forgiveness after Cora botches a bank heist, she and her android friend, Elio, attempt to rob a grave – but then they end up botching that too. Cora and Elio are taken to a maximum security prison where they meet their cellmates, Wren (a girl from Earth) and Anders (an alien from the most vicious planet in the galaxy). None of them get along at first, which was fun to write, but they have to join together if they want to get out of jail.

    If you could spend the day with one of the characters from The Good for Nothings who would it be? Please tell us why you chose this particular character, where you would go and what you would do.
    Wren would be the most fun to spend the day with. She’s the most outgoing and is always talking (maybe more than people would like her too, but that’s okay). She owns the largest ship out of all the characters and is the best pilot, so at least I know that if I was flying with her then we probably wouldn’t crash. It’s really tough to pick what we would do because most of the planets featured in The Good for Nothings are home to murderous aliens and creepy crawly monsters, so they aren’t exactly places where anyone would want to visit. If Wren could take me to a nice relaxing planet, that would be good. Somewhere we could sit on a beach and order some tropical drinks and not have to worry about any of the vegetation trying to eat us – because (spoiler alert!) that is definitely something that happens in the book.




Author Bio:

Danielle Banas is the author of THE SUPERVILLAIN AND ME and THE GOOD FOR NOTHINGS. She earned a degree in communication from Robert Morris University, where she spent slightly too much time daydreaming about new characters instead of paying attention in class. When she isn’t writing, Danielle can be found loudly singing show tunes, spouting off Disney World trivia, and snuggling with her puppy. She lives in her hometown of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.




GIVEAWAY!

XBTBanner1



0 comments:

Post a Comment